Skip to content

Barbaric Torture or Miracle, cinco

October 17, 2013
In the Recovery room at last.

In the Recovery room at last, no halo for me!

Once again they woke me  and as promised, Dr. Weightlifter did his thing with my body: Jerking my joints, flexing my hands and feet, grabbing my arm and jerking it downward.  Lest you think that he didn’t care about me, he told me he knew my left arm just had the shoulder replaced, and he would be careful with it.

Then it was time for the shocking torture.  They zapped me several times, the story being essentially the same as before: zapping, adjusting the electrodes, zapping again and finally shooting me with the CAT scan.  The head doc indicated he was quite pleased with the results.

Then once again it was Darlene’s turn to try her program.  I made the strongest effort I could, sometimes closing one eye, moving my eyeballs to focus on different spots of the monitor, and so on and so forth.

And I was able to complete portions of the test!  I was happy!  I was able to get several grades of “Excellent”.  Even the portions where I jumped the gun or was judged “too slow to start” contributed meaning full data.  So I was very happy.

The head doc told Darlene to put away her toys and then told me they were closing my wound.  He said it would take another 20 minutes or so.  I think I passed out again, because the next thing I remember was groaning  because of the pain from the nasal cannulae.  Some guy was pulling it out, telling me to relax.  Attached to the cannulae was a huge blood clot.  When he finally got that out the pain decreased dramatically, but the nurses seemingly recoiled in horror.

Not long after that, my wife Alissa showed up.  She fed me ice chips; I was so thirsty, I had her shoveling in my mouth as fast as she could.  Alissa also brought my cell phone and I called a bunch of friends, telling them  about the operation.  Of course, I don’t remember talking to many of them, a downside of “happy juice”.

So my answer to the question (all though never actually posed as one) is yes, the surgery is tough.  But it has given me a new life, new hope, and new energy.  Thank you John, Darlene, “head doc”, “Dr. Weightlifter”, and the many others that helped me.

In my eyes it is a miracle and you are heroes that made it happen.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Kelly hoffman permalink

    Doug, your amazing! Thanks for sharing your procedure. Had been thinking lots about you this last week and have been sending many positive thoughts your way. Glad that the surgery is over. Hope the success just continues!
    Kelly

  2. joyce shipp permalink

    Prayers are answered!!!!! So glad for you….you look wonderful….love the smile….looking forward to seeing a picture with Iris….Blessings and smiles and more prayers….Joyce and Alden, too.

  3. T D Culver permalink

    Atta boy, Douglas! Excellent reportage, like Hemmingway at a bullfight!

    Tom

  4. John permalink

    I’m trying to think of something you might need to make your life even better. I am struggling. How about an underling to drag across Alaska on your next trip. I want to do what you have done but I’m afraid to go by myself! Congratulations on many levels of heroism. I know it sucks to be called a hero because it goes into the past and the past is done. I know you have some amazing days ahead of you and that gives me cause to celebrate! Heal soon and keep writing.

  5. Your strength and courage are inspiring Doug. We miss you and Alissa and hope to see you ride up our drive again one day soon. Joe and I are rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

