Skip to content

I regretted it as soon as the words left my mouth

June 10, 2010

Yesterday was a hard day, PD-wise.  Getting dressed I tried to button my pants.  No could do.  Tried again and again and again… same results.  I just could not coordinate the grip and pull along with the finger action.  Finally, after several more tries I got them.  But it took real effort.

Later in the day, I went down to the basement to set up my tent.  I wanted to make sure that: 1) I remembered how and 2) I could do it.  It took me 45 minutes.  Then came the fun part.  Repacking it.  That took multiple tries and was very frustrating.  Coming up to the kitchen, I meet my wife, Terry.

“This is going to be a tough ride.” I said.  And immediately regretted it.  I’ve tested her a lot: skydiving, riding across the U.S. and now this upcoming ride.  I saw the worry flash across her face.  I didn’t know what to say.  Here I am (sometimes) hardly able to walk across the room, and I’m planning to ride 400 miles across Alaska.  I wanted to reassure her, but at that moment I didn’t have a lot of confidence myself.

I just kept shuffling to the dining room door.

It’s gonna be a tough ride.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Doug;

    If it wasn’t tough it would not be worth doing (at least not the way you are going to do it!). Think of it as challenging, like the adventure it is, like most days for PWP.
    Just do it. You know you can!

    Bob

  2. PWP: person with parkinsons

Leave a Reply

