Skip to content

Saga of Mr. Sew-up

June 18, 2010

Last night’s air was like the breath of a young women.  Cool, crisp, just beautiful.

I thought about records, but at Lander (1/2 mile point) only was averaging 11.9 mph.  Had a scary run down Jackson; on a curve I drifted into the oncoming traffic lane at 40 mph.  At River road my average was only 18.5 mph.  Still, I was strong.

I came up to Cedar, hadn’t decided yet if I would take it or not: It is so challenging!  Skipped it and took Berkshire.  At Berkshire’s start my average was 16.5 mph- not bad.  I charged up.  I have markers; for example there is a stop sign 2/3 of the way up.  Usually I’ve dropped 1 1/2 mph at this point, but last night I’d only dropped 1 mph.  Fantastic.  I kept charging, gulping air.  At the top my average was 15.4 mph, but my lungs wanted a break.  I wasn’t given it to them.  Kept charging.

There are two types of bicycle tires: clenchers and sew-ups.  Most people use clenchers; racers and enthusiasts use sew-ups.  Sew-ups are light but prone to flats.  They are expensive and difficult to repair. 

Two days ago, I got passed by a guy on River; while i was able to catch up to him for a mile or so he pulled away on a hill.  Soon he was gone.  He had a defining feature:  a sew-up under his seat, to be used if he got a flat.  The tire had red sidewalls.

At Berkshire’s top, I got on to Gates Mills Blvd., still cranking hard. A half mile ahead I saw a guy.  He was so far ahead that at first I couldn’t tell if it was a rider or jogger.  After a bit I confirmed it: a rider.  I cranked harder and started catching up.  It took me 1 1/2 miles; maybe 2, but I caught up and got behind him.  Then I saw who it was: Mr. Sew-up.

I blew by that guy so fast I was surprised he wasn’t knocked over by my wake!  He never caught up to me.

I finished the ride with an average speed of 16 mph.  My fastest in two years.  I was pleased.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Joyce permalink

    Doug…what’s the air like when it’s like the breath of an old woman????? Just had to ask…..

    Glad your ride went well….sorry for Mr Sew….

    J

  2. It’s cold. Very cold. Ha! I was trying to be poetic, and I didn’t really like the way it sounded, but at least I got a comment!

  3. Sandy permalink

    That is soooo wrong! A mature woman would compare to an aged wine so that the air is full-bodied and enveloping.

Leave a Reply

