Skip to content

It’s Finished!

April 7, 2011

I’m talking about maple syrup season, not the bike ride.  Although there is a connection so read on.

I love maple syrup.  Every year I tap the trees in my backyard and make some.  This year I made 6.1 gallons of syrup.  It takes about 40 gallons of sap to make one gallon of syrup: 6.1 x 40 = 244 gallons of sap.  Water weighs 8 pounds per gallon; sap is pretty much the same: 244 x 8= 1,952 pounds of sap I carried to the house from my “sugarbush”.  It’s about 500-600 feet each trip, believe me it gets heavy!  I didn’t carry it all at once; it took about 25 trips at ten gallons per trip.

So what does this have to do with the ride?

Donate $100 to the Davis Phinney Foundation (DPF) and I’ll send you a 250 ml bottle (bottle on left).  Donate $175 and I’ll send you a 500 ml bottle (bottle on right).  $250 gets you a 750 ml bottle (center).  Remember, all contributions to DPF are fully tax deductible.  I’m paying  for shipping out of my own pocket so DPF gets the entire amount.  Quantities are limited, I only have thirty six (36) 250 ml bottles, twelve (12) 500 ml bottles, and four (4) 750 ml bottles.  I’ll post numbers here so you’ll know when I’m getting low.

To get a bottle, you must tell me where you want it shipped to.  If you don’t send me a shipping address, I’ll assume you don’t want a bottle.  Email me at dougb@@@copper.net (remove the two extra ampersands). 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

