Skip to content

Dalton, Day Two

August 14, 2011

Having knocked off 50 some miles the day before I was feeling cocky.

The Dalton will humble you.

Dick and Mary said they were going to drive to Galbraith Lake; 80 miles.  I told them I’d meet them there tonight.

They were futzing around with something, so we said our good-byes and I was off.  Immediately there was a fairly steep hill.  I huffed and puffed up it, the mosquitos swarming around my head.  I could see a black cloud, two feet in diameter buzzing me, wanting to suck my tasty blood.  I got to the hilltop and took a short break.  Dick and Mary pulled up.  Mary looked at me and started laughing: “You should see all the mosquitos on your head! Your hat is black with mosquitos!”

Slapping my head, I laughed and they drove off.  An hour or so later, approaching Happy Valley, I ran into them again.  They were gathering firewood down by the river.  We talked and again i told them I’d meet them at Galbraith Lake.  Happy Valley is basically a hunting and fishing camp with an airstrip.  I stopped there for a break and ate lunch.  The guys were nice and offered me coffee and water.  After an hour I was off again.

Boom!  Ran into two problems: the road became dirt again, and the hills started.  Up, down.  Up, down.  They never seemed to stop.

It was the pot holes that really bothered me the most.  They were deep.  They were the mosquitos of the road: bothersome, numerous, and attention demanding.  As I approached Pump Station three, they became monstrous.  I should have taken a picture, but was too busy trying to avoid them.  Finally, I gave up and

To be continued

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

