Skip to content

Getting ready to ride the Rockies

April 26, 2012

Rode 27 miles last night and averaged 14.2 mph. Not bad considering that included two climbs up out of the valley: once up Berkshire and once up Old Mill.  A lot of people have asked me if my PD is getting worse.  In short the answer is yes: for example last night my left foot kept twisting out of the pedal.  It is largely manageable but it just one of the ways I measure the disease progression.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining.  I consider myself to be lucky.  I almost think I am lucky (but not quite) to have PD.  More about that later.

I stopped writing the blog last year because I became discouraged.  I’ll give a fast run down of what followed:

After Atigun pass I rode another 20 miles and made it to a rock quarry.  Along the way I met a guy about my age, maybe a little older, who told me how he rode from Ohio to Texas to raise money for an orphanage.  At one point I thought he was going to give me a donation, but instead he offered me a sandwich.  I demurred.

After the night at the quarry, I made it to Coldfoot.  I was so exhausted I could barely stand.  The last 20 miles or so were tough: I was just  so weak.  I went up to the registration desk.  Barb had told them I was coming and they let me stay the night for free.  It was so nice to sleep in a bed!  The next day I was still exhausted.  “No problem.”  said the manager.  That night was on the house too.  Normally they charge $200/night so I really appreciated it. 

To be continued…

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Congratulations on your ambitious plans for this summer.
    I am bicycling arcross the country again this year

  2. Anonymous permalink

    Congratulations on your endeavers this Summer for the DPF, riding the Rockies in CO.
    I started April 15 on Edisto Island, SC, pedaling to Newport, OR. I am now in Western GA, on the Silver Comet Trail (I’m a very slow bicyclist). In fact I am much slower than 2 years ago when I bicycled from Anacortes, WA, to Edisto Island, SC.
    I am still looking forward to meeting you in person.
    Good Luck,
    Steve Quam

Leave a Reply

