Skip to content

Prudhoe Again?

October 1, 2012

To quote Bugs Bunny:  “Mmmmm… It’s a possibility.”

I swore I would never do it again.  Too tough.  Brutal.  Too many mosquitos.  Too many hills.  Too much rain, too  much mud.

But I look back at it with longing and desire.  I WANT to be on that lonesome road.  I want to be in the wild, camping by myself.  Hell, I want to see if I can do it again.  (Of course once you start that ride, you’re pretty much committed to doing it again.)  I want to see if I can do better.

I mean, I’m always telling people: “When you repeat a ride, it’s  easier the second time, because you’ve learned from the experience.” 

So I think back and the mosquito stings don’t seem so bad.  The hills simply need another, lower, gear.  The mud just needs wider tires.  I can carry more food.  And my PD, well, let’s just ignore that.

It’s become “number two fun.”  (Read the blog!)  And I like a challenge.  Now I understand why sports players have such a hard time retiring,why they keep coming back.  “I can run faster.”  “I can throw better.”  “The wolves ignored me the first time, surely they will again.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

