Skip to content

My Dreams

February 14, 2014

I’m not talking about my goals.  I’m talking about my sleep dreams.

As far as I’m concerned, I live in two places: one is here, on planet earth.   When I fall asleep, I usually visit another place.   It is not always a happy place.   Most of the time someone is trying to kill me.  I wake up screaming, yelling, fighting.  I punch the wall or my poor wife.  One time I bit my wife on her arm; it took two weeks for the bruise to go away.  I could feel  her tissue give way when I bit into her arm.  I had no choice: I thought she was a vampire trying to kill me. Another time, in an effort to jump behind a log and hide from my pursuers, I actually jumped out of bed. You should know that is about a 30 inch drop from the bed top surface  to floor, and I never woke until I hit the floor.

Ouch.

My dreams are vivid, they are life-like.  I see colors, have conversations, and everything  has great detail.  I have snowball fights, fly through the air (that’s usually fun) and walk around.  But all too often things turn into nightmares.  Horrible nightmares.  Horrible.

My neurologist has suggested not taking my meds just before going to bed, and he is right, doing so seems to stop the nightmares.  But the other part, the vivid part remains.  This is not a new thing.  I’ve had vivid dreams for years.

For me it is one of the four symptoms of Parkinson’s.  The other three are lack of, or severely diminished, sense of smell, chronic depression,  and balance problems.  I’m not saying that if you have vivid dreams that you have Parkinson’s.

The problem is that you can’t just go to your doctor and say “Please check me for Parkinson’s.”   There is no test; no way to draw a blood sample and know.  There are no genetic markers. A diagnosis is often made by giving the patient Carbidopa-Levodopa and seeing if it helps.  If it does , you have Parkinson’s.  If not, you don’t.  That’s a really lousy way to diagnose such a serious disease, but that’s all we got.  That’s what I’m trying to change.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Sitting here in FL. Looking at the. water and palm trees and feeling warm. I’m thanking God for beautiful people like you who are so willing to fight for this cause. You r so special. You will see your time and energy rewarded. Thanks for ur sharings. Keep them coming.
    Blessings and comings,
    Joyce

  2. Culver permalink

    I heard that people can channel
    Their dreams into a subject of their choice, so I would recommend channelling your dreams into Scarlett Johansson!! The vividness could be a plus!!!!!!!!!

  3. Yeah, if I pulled that off she’d be complaining about her horrible nightmares! “God, I had this terrible dream last night about this old man with Parkinson’s hitting on me, and ….”

Leave a Reply

